jump to navigation

Georgia O’Keeffe November 30, 2004

Posted by MM in Mind Boggling Thoughts.
trackback

When I open this new category, I think maybe I would just use it for once. I usually don’t associate “Art” with myself. I am usually not that kind of person who have instincts about arts.

The first time I knew about Georgia O’Keeffe was when I went to Albuquerque, New Mexico and Ann took me to Santa Fe and brought me to her Museum. When I saw her painting, I really like some of them. Pelvis_series_red_with_yellow1945I like how she used the color and specifically how she used the bright color. Acutually majority of her paintings are not in bright color. But from the paintings, I see her passion and see how I want to have that kind of passion. Everyone can feel her passion about painting and how she enjoys doing it. I like her because of that… because of her passion and the way that she can totally enjoy in it. I aslo envy her for that…

In the museum, they also exhibit some of her quotes. I really like them. However, I was only able to retrieve the following quotes from internet:

“Nothing is less real than realism … It is only be selection, by elimination, by emphasis that we get at the real meaning of things.”

“I know I can not paint a flower, I can not paint the sun on the desert on a bright summer morning but maybe in terms of paint colour I can convey to you my experience of the flower or the experience that makes the flower of significance to me at that particular time.”

– Georgia O’Keeffe

Red_canna_georgiaokeeffe

She was famours for drawing the flowers.Mornglory_georgiaokkeffe But after critics associated sex metaphors with her drawings, she changed to draw objects. After she moved to New Mexico, she drew bones, landscapes, and abstracts.

http://www.happyshadows.com/okeeffe/
A bit commercial, but it is nice to display some of her works.

official museum: http://www.okeeffemuseum.org/indexflash.php

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

